Heroes of the Storm

Heroes of the Storm

Heroes of the Storm (originally titled Blizzard DOTA and later changed to Blizzard All-Stars) is a multiplayer online battle arena video game developed by Blizzard Entertainment for Microsoft Windows and OS X. The game features heroes from Blizzard's franchises including Warcraft, Diablo, and StarCraft. The game uses both free-to-play and freemium models and is supported by micropayments, which can be used to purchase heroes, visual alterations for the heroes in the game and mounts.[2][3] Blizzard does not call the game a "multiplayer online battle arena" or an "action real-time strategy" because they feel it is something different with a broader playstyle; they refer to it as an online "hero brawler".[4]

How To Play Heroes of the Storm

Heroes of the Storm revolves around online 5-versus-5 matches, operated through Blizzard's online gaming service Battle.net. Players can choose from three game modes, which include playing with/against computer-controlled heroes or other players. When players first start the game, they may play 5 heroes provided by the free hero rotation, a methodically selected list that changes weekly, but by using gold, the in-game source of wealth, or through microtransactions, they can gain permanent access to a hero. Two additional heroes are available to players who have reached level 15. As of July 2015, there are currently 39 heroes in the game divided into 4 separate roles.[6] Of the currently released maps, 6 of the 8 have the standard 3 main lanes where players can fight, while the others have only two main lanes, but a separate objective-based area.[7] Killing enemy/neutral units and the opposing side's heroes grants experience points, which are shared with the entire team. When a certain experience threshold is reached for a team, each hero on that team levels up, acquiring slightly amplified statuses and gaining a talent point upon reaching levels 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, 16, and 20. Talent points allow players to customize their hero's abilities and generally result in large increase in power, especially for levels 10 and 20. This leveling system emphasizes the importance of teamwork, since a player's action can affect the whole team. Players can also mount different creatures, such as horses or unicorns, to increase their movement speed, automatically unmounting when dealing/receiving damage or using an ability. Minions at neutral camps can be defeated to gain mercenaries that fight for the player. Each map has a different side-objective that will help either team deal significant damage to the other.

Heroes of Heroes of the Storm

In non-draft modes, players choose their heroes in a party before entering the game or knowing what map they are playing. In draft modes, teams cannot play the same heroes as the opposing team. However, they can base their decision around the map that is announced during the draft period. Tutorials - The tutorials are composed of three scripted 'levels' that are aimed at new players with the intent of teaching them movement, use of abilities and other basic controls. The player controls Jim Raynor, who is teleported from the StarCraft universe into the Nexus, receiving instructions from Uther Lightbringer from the Warcraft series. Training - A reduced XP mode that a player can only play without a party versus five AI opponents set at an easy difficulty. Versus A.I. - Players face off against five AI opponents. Before beginning, the player can choose to have human controlled or AI allies. Like in StarCraft II, the AI difficulty can be chosen prior to initiating a match. Quick Match - This mode sets two teams of five human controlled characters against each other on one of the eight maps in Player Versus Player style combat. These teams are selected based on the player's past performance (a somewhat hidden statistic not available in-game) to create a level playing field, as well as the roles of heroes chosen. For example, if a player queues without other party members as a Support, they are extremely unlikely to be matched with four other Support teammates. Hero League - Draft mode. As players compete in these matches they will be awarded ranked points which will progress their League Rank within their community and begin to place them in more challenging match ups. Hero League is unlocked on level 30 and the player must own at least 10 Heroes to participate. Each rank represents 2% of players in the league. Team League - Draft mode. Players who choose to play competitively as a team can use the Team Ranked Match to be matched with other five man teams in their region. The League Rank gained by these teams are assigned separate to the ranks gained within Hero League. Team League is unlocked on level 40 and also requires ownership of a minimum of 10 Heroes. Each rank represents 2% of players in the league. Custom Games - Often used for tournament play, players can create a lobby and make a predetermined matchup of up to five players versus five players, with the ability to choose the map, whether or not it's a draft mode, and add AI controlled characters and up to two observers.

Games Similar To Heroes of the Storm